28 attorneys general call for Right to Repair legislation

Large, bipartisan group of attorneys general show strong support for repair rights

Staff | TPIN

In a letter delivered to Congress on March 24, 2023, attorneys general from 28 U.S. states and jurisdictions called for lawmakers to advance Right to Repair legislation in Congress. 

Signers include the state attorneys general from Alaska, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Idaho, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Washington and Wisconsin, as well as the attorneys general from the District of Columbia, Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands. 

Many of these attorneys general have previously, or are currently, also supporting Right to Repair legislation in their own state. 

Nathan Proctor, PIRG Senior Campaign Director for the Right to Repair made the following statement: 

“Consumers just want to fix their stuff, and attorneys general across the country are heeding their call. Top law enforcement officials from both red and blue states, many of whom have served as key allies in our state work, are now calling for federal action. When manufacturers force consumers to utilize their ‘authorized’ repair partners, they can push unneeded upgrades or hike up repair costs. Meanwhile electronic waste is a burgeoning crisis. Right to Repair is common sense, and this incredible, bipartisan display of support shows, people from all across America support making it the law of the land.”


Show More