



April 1, 2019

Dear President Eighmy,

As faculty and staff concerned about the warming of the earth that is changing our climate, we urge our nation's universities to make a rapid and steady shift away fossil fuels to clean, renewable energy. To avoid the worst effects of climate change, we need nothing less than a commitment to meeting all our energy needs with abundant, pollution-free renewable energy by no later than 2050.

Renewable energy has incredible potential. We could power the nation 10 times over with available wind resources, and existing solar potential is 100 times our current energy needs. At the same time, we waste tremendous amounts of energy.

Major corporations including Google, General Motors and Walmart have committed to powering their operations entirely with renewable energy. Dozens of cities have also made commitments; Salt Lake City and Park City, Utah; Aspen, Colorado; and Georgetown, Texas all agree that the future is 100 percent renewable power.

As significant users of energy, colleges and universities can also make a big difference: The higher education sector spends \$14 billion a year on energy costs alone. At the same time, as influential institutions, universities' actions can set a bold example for hundreds of communities across America.

Many universities have already set 100 percent renewable energy goals, including Cornell University, Boston University, and all 10 schools in the University of California System.

In order to build on the progress that has been made and ensure that we transition to a clean and renewable future, we call on the higher education sector to:

- Make a clear commitment to achieve 100 percent renewable energy for all operations -- including heating, cooling, and transportation -- no later than 2050.
- Set a benchmark of achieving 100 percent renewable electricity no later than 2035.

We thank our nation's universities for their leadership to date and stand ready to help achieve 100 percent renewable energy and put America on a path to a truly clean energy future.

Sincerely,

Brian Hermann Associate Professor Department of Biology University of Texas at San Antonio Hongjie Xie Professor Department of Geological Sciences University of Texas at San Antonio Nicole Frame Adjunct Professor Department of Sociology

University of Texas at San Antonio

Nazan Ssygin Lecturer

Department of Biology University of Texas at San Antonio

James Rogers Lecturer I

Department of Biology

University of Texas at San Antonio

Matt Spottswood Lecturer II

Department of Biology

University of Texas at San Antonio

Ritu Mathur Assistant Professor

Department of Political Science & Geography

University of Texas at San Antonio

Patricio Santamaria

Lecturer

Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering

University of Texas at San Antonio

John Joseph Lecturer

Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering

University of Texas at San Antonio

Ashley Denney Lecturer

Department of Communications

University of Texas at San Antonio

Lindsay Ratcliffe

Lecturer

Writing Program

University of Texas at San Antonio

Stephen Ackley Res Assoc Professor

Department of Geological Sciences University of Texas at San Antonio

Juyan Zhang

Associate Professor

Department of Communication University of Texas at San Antonio

Chris Dunn

Lab Services Supervisor II

Department of Physics & Astronomy University of Texas at San Antonio

Aaron Cassill Professor

Department of Biology

University of Texas at San Antonio

**Betty Travis** 

**Professor Emeritus** 

Department of Mathematics

University of Texas at San Antonio

Martha Lundell

Professor

Department of Biology

University of Texas at San Antonio

Robert Rivas

Laboratory Services Supervisor II

Department of Biology

University of Texas at San Antonio

Weiming Cao

**Associate Professor** 

Department of Mathematics

University of Texas at San Antonio

Dmitry Gokhman

Associate Professor

Department of Mathematics

University of Texas at San Antonio

Igor Halfin Lecturer II

Department of Mathematics

University of Texas at San Antonio

Edwin Barea Professor

Department of Biology

University of Texas at San Antonio

Carlos Acevedo

Lecturer

Department of Mathematics

University of Texas at San Antonio

Shannon Janssen Management Analyst Department of Biology

University of Texas at San Antonio

Felix Almanza

Assistant Director Fiscal Admin

Department of Biology

University of Texas at San Antonio

Judith Espinoza

Staff

Department of Biology

University of Texas at San Antonio

Mary Helen Mays

Staff

Depts. of COS and VPR

University of Texas at San Antonio

George Negrete

Professor

Department of Chemistry

University of Texas at San Antonio

Michael Doyle

Professor

Department of Chemistry

University of Texas at San Antonio

Ahmad Majad

Graduate Research Assistant

Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering

University of Texas at San Antonio

Esra'a Alrashaydh

Graduate Research Assistant

Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering

University of Texas at San Antonio

Santiago Longoria

Lecturer

Writing Program

University of Texas at San Antonio

Phil West

Lecturer

Writing Program

University of Texas at San Antonio

Karen Jensen

Lecturer II

Writing Program

University of Texas at San Antonio

Suzanne Tanaka

Admin Manager

Dept. of Information Systems & Cyber Security

University of Texas at San Antonio

James Benson

Technology Research Assistant

Dept. of Information Systems & Cyber Security

University of Texas at San Antonio

Melody Hensley

Senior Admin Associate

Dept. of Information Systems & Cyber Security

University of Texas at San Antonio

Rita Mitra

Associate Professor in Production

Dept. of Information Systems & Cyber Security

University of Texas at San Antonio

Savannah Bernal Student Assistant I

Dept. of Information Systems & Cyber Security

University of Texas at San Antonio

Sumoia Mohammed Administrative Assistant

Dept. of Information Systems & Cyber Security

University of Texas at San Antonio

Susan Allen

Administrative Assistant II
Department of Computer Science
University of Texas at San Antonio

Dakai Zhu Professor

Department of Computer Science University of Texas at San Antonio

Han Wang Post Doc

Department of Computer Science University of Texas at San Antonio

Melissa May

Director of Communications
Department of Business Affairs
University of Texas at San Antonio

Myrna Paulino

Senior Administrative Assistant Department of Business Affairs University of Texas at San Antonio Tatiana Layman Student Clerk II

Department of Business Affairs University of Texas at San Antonio

Jason Vasquez

Management Analyst

Office of the Vice President for Research University of Texas at San Antonio

Eliot Howard Associate Director

Student Leadership Center

University of Texas at San Antonio

Heather Foster Executive Assistant

Department of Business Affairs University of Texas at San Antonio

Julian Chavez

Research Science Associate I

Department of Environmental Science & Ecology

University of Texas at San Antonio

Matthias Hofferberth Associate Professor

Department of Political Science & Geography

University of Texas at San Antonio

Christopher Ellison

Dean's Distinguished Professor of Social Science

Department of Sociology

University of Texas at San Antonio