Dear members of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives:

As local and state officials, we write on behalf of our millions of constituents to ask you to support the continued growth of clean energy using the time-tested tool of the federal tax code.

Tax incentives have helped spur the tremendous recent growth of renewable energy, energy efficiency and technologies that enable it. America produces almost five times as much renewable electricity from the sun and wind as it did in 2009, and currently wind and solar energy provide nearly 10 percent of our nation's electricity.

The last decade has proven that clean energy can power American homes, businesses and industry — and has put America on the cusp of a dramatic shift away from energy sources that pollute our land, air and water.

Clean energy tax incentives have been key to this progress, and will be critical for accelerating progress on wind and solar energy energy, as well as other technologies, such as energy storage, electric vehicles and energy efficiency, that enable the clean energy revolution. To maintain momentum for the nation's shift to clean energy and ongoing progress in reducing pollution, including the emissions that contribute to climate change, we call on you to update and extend tax credits for the following clean energy solutions before you adjourn for the year:

- Renewable energy: Solar and wind power, and other clean energy sources, enjoy tremendous support across the political spectrum. Updating and extending existing tax credits to support deployment of solar, wind and other clean energy technologies will help ensure that homeowners, businesses and our communities continue to see the environmental and economic benefits from renewable energy.
- Energy storage: Energy storage helps integrate more renewable energy onto our electric grid and increases grid reliability and resiliency. There is bipartisan support for legislation to clarify that energy storage should be eligible for the investment tax credit currently offered for photovoltaic solar.
- Electric vehicles: Transportation is the largest source of U.S. greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, and cars and light-duty trucks are responsible for about 60 percent of those emissions. Increasing the number of electric vehicles that are eligible for the existing tax credit will increase the number of electric vehicles on the road, reducing emissions and improving air quality in our communities.
- Offshore wind power: There's a tremendous untapped resource in the winds that blow off our shores. Thanks to advances in technology and declining costs, bolstered by actions by local, state and federal officials, offshore wind is poised to play a major role in

our energy mix. Extending the 30 percent investment tax credit for offshore wind facilities through 2025 will unlock vast quantities of affordable, zero-emission electricity.

- Energy efficiency: Saving energy is key to any smart clean energy plan. Energy efficiency represents the most cost-effective way to reduce greenhouse gas emissions that contribute to climate change. Extending and modifying tax incentives for homeowners, multi-family dwellings and businesses will save residential consumers and businesses money, and help reduce harmful air pollution.
- Federal tax incentives play a critical role in advancing solutions that reduce air and water pollution, improve our health and our quality of life. By maintaining progress on clean energy, we can show the American people that we are serious about both maintaining progress in the shift to clean energy and reducing the pollution that alters our climate. For the sake of our health and the well-being of our communities, we ask you to do all you can to update and extend these programs.

Thank you,

<u>Arkansas</u> Lioneld Jordan, Mayor, Fayetteville

<u>California</u>

Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, Berkeley Darlene Barber-Martinez, Vice Mayor, Riverbank Teresa Barrett, Mayor, Petaluma Rick DeGolia, Vice Mayor, Atherton Jose Gurrola, Mayor, Arvin Dave Hampton, Council Member, Rio Vista Larry Klein, Mayor, Sunnyvale Jim Prola, former Councilmember and Vice Mayor, San Leandro

<u>Colorado</u>

Jessica Burley, Councilmember, Town of Frisco Eric Mamula, Mayor, Breckenridge Dominick Moreno, State Senator, Adams County Bob Muckle, Mayor, Louisville Steve O'Dorisio, County Commissioner, Adams County Marjorie Sloan, Mayor, Golden Charles Tedesco, County Commissioner, Adams County P.T. Wood, Mayor, Salida <u>Connecticut</u> Ronald McDaniel, Mayor, Montville

<u>Florida</u> Daniel Dietch, Mayor, Surfside Lauren Poe, Mayor, Gainesville Philip Stoddard, Mayor, South Miami Raúl Valdés-Fauli, Mayor, Coral Gables Sandra Welch, Mayor, Coconut Creek

<u>Georgia</u> Ted Terry, Mayor, Clarkston

<u>Illinois</u>

Bill McLeod, Mayor, Hoffman Estates Edwenna Perkins, Mayor, Maywood Rick Reinbold, Mayor, Richton Park Nancy Rotering, Mayor, Highland Park Kim Stone, Councilwoman, Highland Park

Indiana Phil Jenkins, Mayor, Nappanee

lowa

Ako Abdul-Samad, State Representative, Des Moines Marti Anderson, State Representative, Des Moines Tony Bisignano, State Senator, Des Moines Rob Hogg, State Senator, Cedar Rapids Bruce Hunter, State Representative, Des Moines Timothy Kacena, State Representative, Sioux City Ed Malloy, Mayor, Fairfield Charlie McConkey, State Representative, Council Bluffs

Kansas Paula Schwach, Mayor, Westwood Hills

Maine

Kimberly Cook, City Councilor, Portland Nicole Grohoski, State Representative, Ellsworth and Trenton Deane Rykerson, State Representative, District 1 Maureen Terry, State Representative, Gorham

<u>Maryland</u> Edward Estes, Mayor, Glenarden Rocio Treminio-Lopez, Mayor, Brentwood <u>Massachusetts</u> Janet Flinkstrom, Board of Selectmen Chair, Ashby Ruthanne Fuller, Mayor, Newton David Narkewicz, Mayor, Northampton Emily Norton, City Councilor, Newton

<u>Michigan</u> Jim Carruthers, Mayor, Traverse City

<u>Minnesota</u> Jacob Frey, Mayor, Minneapolis Erik Hatlestad, City Council, New London

<u>Montana</u> Cynthia Andrus, Mayor, Bozeman Bob Kelly, Mayor, Great Falls

<u>Nevada</u> Debra March, Mayor, Henderson

<u>New Jersey</u> Gayle Brill Mittler, Mayor, Highland Park Dean Dafis, Councilman, Maplewood Victor De Luca, Mayor, Maplewood Paul Kennedy, Mayor, Ocean Gate Frank McGehee, Deputy Mayor, Maplewood

<u>New Mexico</u> Alan Webber, Mayor, Santa Fe

<u>New York</u> Drew Fixell, Mayor, Village of Tarrytown Thomas Roach, Mayor, White Plains Ellen R. Tillapaugh, Mayor, Village of Cooperstown David VanLuven, Town Supervisor, Town of Bethlehem

<u>North Carolina</u> Pam Hemminger, Mayor, Chapel Hill Lydia Lavelle, Mayor, Carrboro Steve Schewel, Mayor, Durham

<u>Ohio</u> Joseph Koziura, Mayor, Lorain Lillian Moore, Councilwoman, Highland Hills William Wtulich, City Council Member, Sheffield Lake <u>Oregon</u> Denny Doyle, Mayor, City of Beaverton Biff Traber, Mayor, Corvalis

Pennsylvania

Yaniv Aronson, Mayor, Conshohocken Mark Barbee, Mayor, Bridgeport Borough David Burton, Mayor, Borough of Malvern Thomas Killion, State Senator, 9th District Adam Ravenstahl, State Representative, 20th State House District Matthew Shorraw, Mayor, Monessen Danene Sorace, Mayor, Lancaster Theodore H. Streeter, Mayor, Gettysburg Sean Strub, Mayor, Milford Greg Vitali, State Representative, 166th District

<u>Rhode Island</u> Jorge Elorza, Mayor, Providence

<u>South Carolina</u> Carol Jackson, City Councilmember, Charleston

<u>Texas</u> Steve Adler, Mayor, Austin

<u>Utah</u> Jacqueline Biskupski, Mayor, Salt Lake City Rosemarie Russo, Sustainability Director, Moab

<u>Virginia</u> Lori Herrick Borden, Energy Management Administrator, Virginia Beach

<u>Washington</u> Matt Larson, Mayor, Snoqualmie Chris Roberts, Councilmember, Shoreline

<u>Wisconsin</u> Gurdip Brar, Mayor, Middleton Eric Genrich, Mayor, Green Bay Jeremy Gragert, City Councilmember, Eau Claire Debra Lewis, Mayor, Ashland Zachary Vruwink, Mayor, Wisconsin Rapids