Dear Governor McCrory,

As elected officials, we are deeply concerned about the significant and growing threat hydraulic fracturing poses to our health and environment. We urge you to stand up for the right of all communities to determine whether, where, and how this dirty drilling is conducted within their own borders.

Across the country, fracking operations have contaminated water, put residents' health at risk, and turned rural landscapes into industrial zones. There have been more than one thousand documented cases of drinking water contamination across the country. Moreover, a growing number of scientific studies are now linking toxic fracking pollution with a wide range of health risks including cancer.

In addition, fracking also imposes particular burdens on local communities, from strained services to ruined roads. As with other extractive booms, the arrival and expansion of fracking operations has been correlated with a wide range of social problems, including increases in domestic violence, drug use, traffic accidents, and civil disturbances. Other local impacts— such as water and soil contamination and reduced property values— are likely to persist long after the boom is gone, and we will be the ones left to pick up the pieces.

In the face of these grave impacts, and with our moratorium now lifted, it is no surprise that a growing number of communities are moving to halt or substantially limit fracking within their borders. The notion that our communities have the right to bar or limit activities which threaten public health or the quality of life of their residents has a long tradition in North Carolina's law. This principle is the basis of common health ordinances and local land use rules, including zoning, which often involve trade-offs with property rights and other interests. Yet the oil and gas industry has the audacity to insist that this basic principle of local control should not apply to its operations.

With fracking now legal in our state, it may be coming into our backyards and farmlands, next door to our hospitals and schools, and into the pristine and wild acres that provide drinking water and recreational opportunities for North Carolinians. In light of the foregoing, we believe that all communities in North Carolina should have the right to reject fracking operations—including not only well pads but also waste pits, compressor stations, and all the infrastructure of dirty drilling—within their borders. We urge you to declare your clear support for this right of local control here in North Carolina.

Sincerely,

Alamance County

The Honorable Robert Byrd County Commissioner

Brunswick County

The Honorable Terry Johnson Council Member Sunset Beach

Buncombe County

The Honorable Cecil Bothwell

Councilman Asheville

The Honorable Gwen Wisler

Councilwoman Asheville

The Honorable Marc Hunt

Vice Mayor Ashville

The Honorable Dottie Sherrill

Mayor Weaverville

The Honorable Brownie Newman

Commissioner

The Honorable David Gantt

Chairman

The Honorable Holly Jones

County Commissioner

Cabarrus County

Ella Mae Small Council Member

Concord

Chatham County

The Honorable Diana Hales

Commissioner

Craven County

The Honorable Luci Avery

Council Member

River Bend

Dare County

The Honorable Monica Thibodeau

Council Member

Duck

The Honorable Nancy Caviness

Council Member

Duck

The Honorable Sheila Davies

Mayor

Kill Devil Hills

Durham County

The Honorable Bill Bell

Mayor Durham

The Honorable Diane Catotti

Councilor Durham

The Honorable Don Moffitt

Councilor Durham

The Honorable Michael Page

Chairman Durham

The Honorable Steve Schewel

Councilor Durham

The Honorable Wendy Jacobs

Commissioner

Durham

Forsyth County

The Honorable Denise Adams

Council Member Winston-Salem

Gaston County

The Honorable Todd Pierceall Council Member Gastonia

Granville County

The Honorable Thomas Lane Mayor Butner

The Honorable Bill McKellar Councilman Butner

The Honorable Thomas Lane Mayor Granville

The Honorable Robert Williford Commissioner Oxford

Guilford County

The Honorable Pricey Harrison Representative Greensboro

The Honorable Cynthia Davis Council Member High Point

The Honorable Jeffery Golden Council Member High Point

Iredell County

The Honorable Jarrod Phifer Council Member Statesville

Jackson County

The Honorable Clark Corwin Council Member Forest Hills

Johnston County

The Honorable Charles Williams Council Member Smithfield

Mecklenburg County

The Honorable LaWana Mayfield Councilwoman Charlotte

The Honorable Ruby Jones School Board Member Charlotte

The Honorable John Woods Mayor Davidson

Orange County

The Honorable Lydia Lavelle Mayor Carrboro

The Honorable Bethany Chaney Alderwoman Carrboro The Honorable Damon Seils Alderman Carrboro

The Honorable Mark Kleinschmidt Mayor Chapel Hill

The Honorable Ed Harrison Council Member Chapel Hill The Honorable George Cianciolo Coucil Member Chapel Hill

The Honorable Jim Ward Council Member Chapel Hill

The Honorable Lee Storrow Council Member Chapel Hill

The Honorable Maria Palmer Coucil Member Chapel Hill

The Honorable Sally Greene Council Member Chapel Hill

The Honorable Barry Jacobs Commissioner

The Honorable Bernadette Pelissier Vice-Chairman

The Honorable Mia Day Burroughs Commissioner

The Honorable Mark Dorosin Commissioner

The Honorable Renee Price Commissioner

Pasquotank County

The Honorable Darius Horton Councilman Elizabeth City

The Honorable Raymond Donnelly Councilman Elizabeth City The Honorable Tony Stimatz Councilman Elizabeth City

The Honorable Joseph Winslow Chairman

Pender County

The Honorable Michael Curley Councilman Surf City

The Honorable William Fowler Councilman Surf City

Pitt County

The Honorable Etsil Sinclar Mason Mayor Farmville

The Honorable Marion Blackburn Council Member Greenville

Robeson County

The Honorable Erich Hackney Councilman Lumberton

Rocky Mount

The Honorable Andrew Knight Council Member Rocky Mount

The Honorable Lois Watkins Council Member Rocky Mount

Swain County

The Honorable David Monteith Vice Chairman

Wake County

The Honorable William Sutton Mayor Apex

The Honorable Bill Jenson Council Member Apex

The Honorable Lori Bush Councilor Cary

The Honorable TJ Cawley Councilor Morrisville

The Honorable Michael Schlink Councilor Morrisville

The Honorable Steve Rao Councilor Morrisville

The Honorable Eugene Weeks Councilor Raleigh

The Honorable Shannon Whitley Commissioner Rolesville

The Honorable Sig Hutchinson Commissioner Wake County