Mr. Michael S. Regan, Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20460

Dear Administrator Regan,

As local and state elected officials from across Pennsylvania, we write today to support the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) proposed reduction of greenhouse gasses from the power sector (EPA-HQ-OAR-2023-0072).

Representing tens of thousands of constituents, we understand firsthand how important tackling climate change is to our communities. Pennsylvania is already feeling the impacts of climate change: for example, extreme weather—including storms, flooding, and landslides—is becoming more frequent and more severe across the Keystone State. This summer is expected to be another unusually hot season, bringing more days of dangerous heat.

To avoid the worst impacts of climate change, we need to rein in carbon emissions from the nation's dirty coal- and gas-fired power plants. The power sector is the largest source of climate pollution in Pennsylvania and second-largest source in the U.S.

We are thankful that the EPA is taking action to reduce climate pollution. The agency's proposed carbon rule represents an important step forward, as it would reduce 617 million metric tons of carbon dioxide by 2042, which is equivalent to the annual emissions of half of all cars in the U.S.

Beyond these significant climate reductions, the rule would also reduce tens of thousands of tons of unhealthy air pollution linked to asthma, cancer, and premature death.

We believe EPA's proposal is a critically important step forward, and encourage the agency to achieve even greater pollution reductions by covering more plants and on a faster timeline in recognition of the threat of climate change. The administration must also take action for community protections and input, including rigorous monitoring and verification of emissions, enforcement of violations, and engagement with communities, both on the state planning process and on individual projects.

We look forward to working with you and your agency to finalize these important standards by April 2024 at the latest to protect our planet and public health.

Sincerely,

State Officials

State Senator Amanda Cappelletti State Senator Carolyn Comitta State Senator Vincent Hughes State Senator Tim Kearney State Senator Katie Muth State Senator Nikil Saval State Senator Judy Schwank State Senator Lindsey Williams State Representative Mary Jo Daley State Representative Jason Dawkins State Representative Elizabeth Fiedler State Representative Dan Frankel State Representative Danielle Friel Otten State Representative Nancy Guenst State Representative Tarik Khan State Representative Patty Kim State Representative Stephen Kinsey State Representative Rick Krajewski State Representative Tarah Probst State Representative Chris Rabb State Representative Abigail Salisbury State Representative Benjamin Sanchez State Representative Christine Sappey State Representative Peter Schweyer State Representative Greg Scott State Representative Jared Solomon State Representative Greg Vitali State Representative Joe Webster State Representative Liz Hanbidge

Local Officials

Mayor Yaniv Aronson, Conshohocken
Council President Jesse Barlow, State College
Councilman L. Eric Bernier, College Township
Councilmember Michelle Billups, Upper Darby
Commissioner Bill Bole, Abington
Councilman Kevin Boyer, Media
Councilman Joseph Boylan, Morton
Councilmember Kendra Brooks, Philadelphia
Council President Kathryn Cloyd, Oxford
Councilperson Christopher Crook, Nazareth
Councilwoman Janet Diaz, Lancaster

Councilmember Alice Elia, Chambersburg

Councilman Uri Feiner, Yardley Councilperson Alice Gabriel, Etna Mayor Ed Gainey, Pittsburgh

Councilmember Jamie Gauthier, Philadelphia County Commissioner Bob Harvie, Bucks Councilperson Amy High, Bridgeport

Councilmember Bruce Hockersmith, Shippensburg

Councilperson Kathleen Horwatt, Langhorne Councilman James Huber, Bloomsburg

Mayor Beth Jacksier, Bridgeport

Commissioner Gilda Kramer, Lower Merion

Councilman Bruce Kraus, Pittsburgh Commissioner Jim Lee, Springfield

Commissioner Cheryl Lockard, Upper Moreland County Councilmember Kevin Madden, Delaware Township Supervisor Sultan Magruder, Patton County Commissioner Josh Maxwell, Chester

Mayor Neil McDevitt, North Wales

Supervisor Tessie McNeely, Lower Gwynedd Commissioner Martin Miller, West Norriton

County Commissioner Marian Moskowitz, Chester

Councilmember Alexander Myers, Hatboro Supervisor Gary Neights, Lower Providence

Councilperson Mark Paikoff, Media Councilmember Dick Poot, Coopersburg

Mayor Brittany Reno, Sharpsburg

Council President David Rinaldi, Clarks Green Township Supervisor Pamela Robb, Patton

Mayor David Schiffgens, Red Hill Mayor Tim Schultz, Hatboro

Councilwoman Jessica Semler, Etna

Councilmember Moshe Sherman, Edgewood Township Supervisor Patricia Stephens, Ferguson Councilmember Erika Strassburger, Pittsburgh Township Supervisor Daniel Trevino, Patton Councilperson Barb Warwick, Pittsburgh Supervisor Fredric Weiss, Lower Makefield Mayor Noni West, Doylestown

Township Supervisor Betsy Whitman, Patton Supervisor Sharon Yates, Valley Township