Dear President Biden,

We, the undersigned North Carolina locally elected officials, are writing to urge your administration to enact the strongest possible protections for mature and old-growth trees and forests on federal lands.

North Carolina's forests are a vital part of our natural heritage. From the whitewater falls in Nantahala to the mile-high peaks and forested slopes of Pisgah, our national forests are a big part of what makes North Carolina such an amazing place to live and visit.

Our forests provide habitat for many species including the Eastern Box Turtle, American Black Bear and the endangered Northern Saw-whet Owl. North Carolina is suffering from the effects of climate change including rising sea levels on our coast, dangerously hot summers, and more extreme weather patterns. Less than 1% of trees on the East Coast have lived to "old-growth" age, a huge divergence from the natural state of this region. In the face of biodiversity loss and worsening climate change, we cannot afford to lose our mature trees and forests as well.

On Friday, June 21st, the U.S. Forest Service released a Draft Environmental Impact Statement with proposals that could conserve old-growth across all national forests. However, none of these proposed alternatives would effectively protect old-growth forests in North Carolina. This is the most recent step following President Biden's Executive Order, issued in 2022, to develop policies to protect mature and old-growth forests on Federal lands.

Specifically, we are urging your administration to:

- 1. Clearly prohibit the sale of logged old-growth for any reason.
- 2. Lay the groundwork for durable protections for mature trees.

3. Recognize the unique condition of North Carolina's eastern forests and prescribe protections to fit our region, including reducing the widespread reliance on even-aged management, and deemphasizing the risk of wildfires in eastern forests to more accurately reflect our forest conditions.

We deeply appreciate your ongoing commitment and leadership in protecting America's forests and addressing the climate crisis and look forward to ensuring that mature and old-growth trees will remain protected for generations to come.

Sincerely,

Christina Jones, Council Member, Raleigh City Council

Carl Rist, Council Member, Durham City Council

Salette Andrews, Council Member, Wilmington City Council

Tiawana Brown, Council Member, Charlotte City Council Megan Patton, Council Member, Raleigh City Council Jon Feichter, Council Member, Waynesville Town Council TJ Cawley, Mayor, Town of Morrisville John F. Higdon, Mayor, Town of Matthews Courtney Banks-McLaughlin, Council Member, Fayetteville City Council Kim Roney, Council Member, Asheville City Council Mary-Ann Baldwin, Mayor, City of Raleigh Maggie Ullman, Council Member, Asheville City Council Andre Knight, Council Member, Rocky Mount City Council Christy Clark, Mayor, Town of Huntersville Stacy J Guffey, Vice Mayor, Town of Franklin Terry Mahaffey, Council Member, Apex Town Council Kevin Mundy, Council Member, Winston-Salem City Council Mary Black, Council Member, Raleigh City Council Jacques K. Gilbert, Mayor, Town of Apex Robert Murray, Mayor, Town of Waxhaw Annie Drees, Council Member, Holly Springs Parker Sloan, Buncombe County Commissioner, Buncombe County John Chase, Council Member, Weaverville Town Council Brandon Raynor, Commissioner, Town of Hamilton Kimmie Rogers, Council Member, Lenoir City Council

Robert Wheeler, Mayor, City of Creedmoor Dontario Hardy, Mayor, City of Kinston Teagan Hall, Commissioner, Boiling Spring Lakes Elyse Craver, Commissioner, Hope Mills Mike Horn, Mayor, Lewisville Tommy Black, City Councilor, Lexington Barbara A. Mallett, Mayor, Town of East Spencer Tracy Mattison Brandon, Commissioner, Town of Davidson Barbara Maurer, Town Council, Town of River Bend Darcey Ladner, Council Member, Town of Weddington Dick Casey, Council Member, Village of Sugar Mountain Mason Blake, Mayor Pro Tem, Montreat Michele Wood, Council Member, Weaverville Jean R. Toner, Mayor, Town of St. James Hazel Thornton, Council Member, Woodfin John Barrett, Mayor, Town of Waco Doris Howington, Commissioner, Whitakers Paul Henkel, Council Member, Town of Troutman Tim Helms, Mayor, Montreat Susan Cope, Commissioner and Mayor Pro Tem, Town of Stem Bryan Cohn, City Commissioner, Oxford John Foley, Town Commissioner, Pittsboro

Patti Secreast, Mayor Pro Tempore, Spencer